Siegerkronen für Innovationen


Those who create technologies that boost our economies and improve our living conditions are doing the future a great service – and are often honored for this in a special way.

The European Inventor Award is presented each year by the European Patent Office (EPO) to inventors whose ideas drive advancement and improve our everyday lives. There are five award categories.

The German Future Prize has been awarded by the Federal President since 1997 to scientists and engineers whose ideas help to make our economy more sustainable or help to seize the opportunities offered by digitalization.

Forward-looking projects by German companies are what the Deutsche Innovationspreis (German Innovation Award) is all about, an initiative of Wirtschaftswoche and the companies Accenture and EnBW. The prize is awarded in the categories large companies, medium-sized companies, and start-ups.

Promoting STEM interests

The competition Jugend forscht (Youth Researches) promotes special achievements and talents in the STEM subjects. The initiative aims to get young people inspired by these topics for the long term and to provide career guidance. The competition is a joint initiative of the federal government, the federal states, Stern magazine, and representatives from business, science, and schools.

“Inspiring. Vital. Digital.” That is the motto of the Innovationspreises IT (IT Innovation Award), which is awarded every year by Initiative Mittelstand (Small and Medium-Sized Businesses’ Initiative). With 38 categories and two special awards, the prize covers all areas of modern IT: from apps and e-commerce to advanced knowledge management solutions.

Innovative spirit and creativity

People from North Rhine-Westphalia who facilitate progress with practical solutions are honored each year with the Innovationspreis des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen (Innovation Award of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia). There are three award categories: special innovative achievement, outstanding young researcher, and an honorary award.

With the inventor award Artur Fischer Erfinderpreis Baden-Württemberg, the federal state has been demonstrating its innovative spirit and creativity since 2001 by honoring exceptionally dedicated inventors. Special attention is given to inventions by school classes, school study groups, and individual school pupils that are innovative and of great benefit to society.

The Hermes Award is an international technology prize awarded annually by Hannover Messe that celebrates outstanding products and solutions from the fascinating world of technology.

Most prestigious science prize in the world

The Nobel Prize is considered the most prestigious science prize in the world and was awarded for the first time in 1901. It originates from a foundation set up by Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel. The prize is awarded every year in early fall to renowned personalities who have done a great deal to advance the fields of physics, chemistry, medicine, literature, peace, and economics.

The Helmholtz Prize aims to raise the bar in the field of metrology. It honors those who have made a name for themselves in precision measurement in physics, chemistry, and medicine. There are two award categories: fundamentals and applications.

The Japan Prize is awarded each year to scientists from all over the world who have made outstanding achievements in the field of science or technology. The award is especially highly regarded in Asia.

The German Institute for Inventions has been awarding the Rudolf-Diesel-Medaille since 1953. According to the Institute, it is Germany’s oldest innovation award. Winners of the award are often people who, in addition to great inventive talent, also demonstrate the business acumen to market their ideas.

Header image:  lchumpitaz -